Create Bookmarklets in Nokia Web Browser and Opera Mini

25 06 2009

Ever been on your mobile surfing the web and wish you could quickly share a webpage you’ve found with friends, twitter, google reader, delicious, evernote, stumble it, ping.fm, etc..?

Did you say YES, well now you can thanks to the great people at WapReview.com 

Just point your browser at http://o.yeswap.com and follow the instructions provided there. I now have Nokia Web Browser and Opera Mini (Shortcut *8) setup to Ping.This (ping.fm) and post any URL’s I find interesting with all my social network sites.

Via: WapReview

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 06 2009
Dennis Bournique

I’m glad you found the Ping this! bookmartklet useful and thanks for the link back to WapReview.

I was surprised to read that you have it working with the Nokia browser too. I’m guessing that’s on the N97. I’ve never been able to get any bookmarklet to work with the Nokia Webkit browser on my N95. Nice to hear that Nokia’s finnally added bookmarklet support to their browser.

25 06 2009
gerrymoth

Yes Dennis its the N97 I was using for the Nokia Web Browser, will need to test on the 5800XM and E71 when I get a chance to see if its working. At least it will work in Opera Mini whatever phone anyone has 🙂

25 06 2009
gerrymoth

Just tried the bookmarklet in the 5800XM web browser and it works great for ping.this 🙂

26 06 2009
Micky

This is just what I have been looking for, but Im having problems on how to use it. Could you put together a step-by-step guide please mate. Tried setting ping up on my N97, but not sure what i have to do when I want to ping a site I wish to share. Is it just a case, of, when i see a site I wish to ping, I just bookmark it?

Thanks in advance

Micky

26 06 2009
Micky

Still stuck, and followed the instructions on the site to the letter. Even logged into my ping dashboard on my N97, but when I try and select the Bookmarklet when I see a site I wish to share, it comes up with “Unable to perform web conent”

26 06 2009
Dennis Bournique

Mickey,

I don’t have an N97 but Gerry does and it works for him.
Check the address field of the bookmarklet. It should look like this:

javascript:location.href=’http://ping.fm/ref/?link=’+encodeURIComponent(location.href)+’&title=’+encodeURIComponent(document.title);

27 06 2009
Micky

Thanks Dennis, I have double checked, and the url is correct. Im guessing its a possible bug in the N97 I have.

27 06 2009
Micky

Hold on, just checked again now I have had some coffee this morning, and you may of been onto something there Dennis. I had http: in front of Javascript.

I have removed it, and will try again.

EDIT. YES, ITS WORKING NOW!!!!!!

Thanks so much Dennis. I feel stupid now. Thanks again Gerry for going through all our settings yesterday. So now we know it was all my own fault for not removing enough or the url when editing it.

regards

An embarrassed Micky

Leave a Reply

