gerrymoth’s N97 Updated to Firmware v11.0.021

1 07 2009

scr000008.jpg I’ve just updated the Euro Generic N97 I have to Firmware v11.0.021 from the phone using the Phone Device Updater.

Will have a good play with it and let you know what I think soon.

Okay I’ve had a quick play around with the new firmware and here are my intial thoughts:

  • The keylock/screenlock at the side of the N97 now actually works 1st time, every time and with the N97 locked when you slide the keyboard out the screen now unlocks and illuminates ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Album Art still using the wrong images selected in Music Player ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
  • Overall N97 stability feels better and the homescreen is behaving so far ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Still getting “Download Failed” when trying to download and install anything in OVI Store application ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I must say I do LOVE Firmware Over The Air (FOTA) updates, downloaded, installed, restared phone and that’s it. All done in about 5 minutes.

Posted by Wordmobi

Actions

Information

20 responses

1 07 2009
The Nokia N97 firmware v11 goes live | NewGenNews

[…] v11 goes live July 1, 2009 at 4:45 am For many people anyway, e.g. here at N97 enthusiast Gerry Moth’s. See also his Twitter feed for his comments through the day. Rafe and Tzer2 both have N97s here at […]

1 07 2009
Nokia N97 gets a Firmware update to v11.0.021 | ZOMG its Cj

[…] [Image via NokiaAddict] […]

1 07 2009
The Nokia N97 firmware v11 goes live | Nokia N97

[…] v11 goes live Posted by admin in News For many people anyway, e.g. here at N97 enthusiast Gerry Moth’s. See also his Twitter feed for his comments through the day. Rafe and Tzer2 both have N97s here at […]

1 07 2009
Jon

Hi Wordmobi, when I try and debrand my N97 I can ge tthe device info in NSS but when I scan for Phone Info I get “Scan for product… Error!”. Any ideas? I’m running Windows 7 and the phone seemed to appear and install ok when I connected it…

Many thanks, Jon.

1 07 2009
gerrymoth

NSS doesn’t work with 5th Edition phones, you’ll need to use JAF, I’ve got instructions for it on one of my 5800XM FW update posts.

1 07 2009
Jon

Ah I see… thanks gerrymoth, I’ll read up on your post.

I’m a newcomer to S60 5th so still finding myself around it.

Keep up the good work! Jon.

1 07 2009
gerrymoth

Oh and Jon, the names gerrymoth. Wordmobi is the application I use on the N97 to post to wordpress.com/nokiaaddict.com ๐Ÿ˜€

1 07 2009
Jon

LOL! Oops! ๐Ÿ˜‰

1 07 2009
Nokia N97, firmware update ver 11.0.021 (disponibile) « johnnybrasco’s Weblog

[…] MB). Tra le poche poche esperienze che riportano di un aggiornamento via OTA, c’รจ quella di gerrymoth (nokiAAddict), in possesso di un N97 classificato con il product code 0576350 RM-505_EMEA_EURO_QW1 […]

1 07 2009
Jon

Gerry, I have not had the “Download failed” in Ovi Store… is it a common problem?

1 07 2009
gerrymoth

its been a problem for me, never been able to download anything from the app since i got the phone. Website works fine

1 07 2009
DYMongoose

All I get when I try to update is “No updates available”. I’ve got the US model… does that make a difference?

1 07 2009
gerrymoth

i’ve been told the nam version is only available via pc suite and nsu

2 07 2009
osteon

Gerrymoth, just a thought. I had “download failed” using ovi store on my N95 8gb using my usual “O2 MobileWeb” access point. The web part of OVI still worked and I was able to view all the apps. “o2 mobileweb” is the access point I use for all my data including youtube, iplayer (hacked), mobbler etc.

When I changed my access point for ovi store to “O2 Active”, everything worked fine including downloads. I don’t know if you have alternate access points you could try through your provider. Cheers

2 07 2009
gerrymoth

Thanks will try this, will need to reinstall the OVI Store again.

17 07 2009
rickbonici

Hi, I too have the problem where downloading on Ovi store it says download failed. Does anyone know how to combat this?

Thanks a million,

Rick

20 07 2009
gerrymoth

Only way I got round fixing this was to uninstall the OVI Store and only use the web browser based OVI Storre to install things.

20 07 2009
rickbonici

Do you mean download it onto the computer from the ovi website? Because I can only see a button to send text to mobile :–(

x

20 07 2009
gerrymoth

No i mean use the nokia web browser on your phone and goto store.ovi.com

26 07 2009
martin

i did a hard rest by pressing *#7370# then 12345.

i cant seem to update to v1 firmware, ovi downloads the update then says internal error and don’t install. anyway around this? and i cant seem to get it over the air, SW update says system update, but when i click it it said to download via pc?

cheers.

Leave a Reply

