Nokia N97 Firmware v20.2.019 Available NOW

27 10 2009

N97 FW v20

Nokia have finally started to released Firmware v20 for the Nokia N97 via NSU, this firmware brings improved performance updates to the device:

* Improved touch screen scrolling
* Ovi Maps 3.1 with 3–D maps
* Nokia e-mail, Ovi Contacts, Ovi Store
* Improved memory and battery performance
* Improved image and video stability
* Vlingo pre-installed

Check HERE to see if its avaliable for your Product Code (Product Code is on the label under the battery)

Does the update answer all your N97 needs? Please let me know.

 

Actions

Information

22 responses

27 10 2009
27 10 2009
Nokia N97 firmware v20.2.019 available | Flash Lite 4 Nokia

[…] NokiaAddict, the Nokia N97 firmware v20.2.019 is now available via NSU […]

27 10 2009
Traves

Vlingo is the dopest shit in the history of mankind! I bought Vlingo Plus and will never be the same!

28 10 2009
Spiffo

Beware… Mauikek link has a .js html virus. Don’t click if you have no AV.

31 10 2009
scaredofgirls

Hey,

My product code is a 3UK N97.. so I changed it with NSS to the one you have in the picture… and I still get no update either OTA or via NSU.

Do you know of a sure way code that will get this update?

Ive changed my code back to the 3UK one.

31 10 2009
scaredofgirls

haha..! weee

NSS to product code 0570817 RM 505

and I got version 2.0 🙂 weeee

31 10 2009
gerrymoth

Glad you got there 😀

Let me know how you find the new firmware and comment back?

2 11 2009
ben bradshaw

Hey Gerry.

Had the new firmware two days now…

Really pleased I can now select GSM as well as UMST and Dual, as I live in a rubbish 3G signal area… and now I can at least receive phone calls. (perhaps this option was pre 2.0, but I had a 3UK branded handset, and now I guess ive debranded)

Overall… I dont see that many mind blowing improvements.. when you are scrolling through the contact list and the big letter pops up so you can see where you are in the alphabet, I think that needs some fine tuning, when you reach letter B for instance, you are nearly at the end of them when it shows up..I have about 20 contact starting with B.

I think the ‘Slide to answer’ has gotten a bit bigger too. Now it only takes one stroke to answer a call.

They seemed to have fixed the lock switch problem where the light goes off and you have to slide the switch two or three times, so I am really pleased with that.

I do like the ‘iphone’ type scrolling, it works very well in most cases.

As for it being the N97 version 2… well.. I dont think so really.. their hasnt been that much noticeable to everyday use experience.. but it has improved the free memory on C… and it isnt as delayed when I go to do something.. but that could of just been with the branding, which i have noticed on all the handsets i;ve debranded… they speed up, crash less often.

I will report more, when i’ve been impressed by something else.

Ben

3 11 2009
LT

I installed firmware today and have been unable to make calls since, just says Not Allowed when i try and dial. Also if people call me it just rings out but thephone doesnt actualy ring. Have emailed Nokia but no reponse yet.

3 11 2009
gerrymoth

Have you tried hard reseting the phone? I know some people have had problems with FOTA updating, but once they have hard reset everything is fine.

1 12 2009
frees

same here….

3 11 2009
bryan

hi nokia fans..
i’m from philippines and i’ve been trying to upgrade my firmware to 2.0 but everytime i update at NSU i still get the older firmware…what’s wrong how come everyone else seems to be getting it? is it because i live in the philippines and it’s not available here?

3 11 2009
gerrymoth

You may need to change ur product code if your mobile is network specific. Checkout the product code which are available with v20 at the nokiausers.net N97 forum

2 12 2009
DarrenT

How do you change your product code?

1 12 2009
frees

i have same prob with LT…
after i update the firmware i cant make a call n receive a call..
when i try to make a call “not allowed” is out on the screen…

the ovimaps also didnt work..
when i try to open maps its come back to menu screen…

i still havent done any hard reset on the phone coz i dont know how to do it..
is hard resetwill cause all data in my phone gone or not?
anyone can help?

1 12 2009
frees

i have same prob with LT…
after i update the firmware i cant make a call n receive a call..
when i try to make a call “not allowed” is out on the screen…

the ovimaps also didnt work..
when i try to open maps its come back to menu screen…

i still havent done any hard reset on the phone coz i dont know how to do it..
is hard resetwill cause all data in my phone gone or not?
anyone can help?

2 12 2009
Benjamin

There seems to be someone with a 20.0.027 firmware

Anyone got any info on this?

15 01 2010
KimmoK

I had the same problem after update. When i tried to call just got info “not allowed”. After I did *#7370# it started to work. Ofcourse afterwards I had to restore all data like contacts etc..

19 01 2010
Smooove

Installed version 20.2.0.19 of the N97 firmware using OVI desktop (FOTA update didn’t seem to have the v20 firmware yet in Oz for 3.). When update completed, I also got the “not allowed” when trying to make calls. Performed a *#7370#, and bingo! All good again, and able to make calls. Performed a resync with OVI, and all contacts etc were back.

19 01 2010
Smooove

correction- 20.0.019 (not 20.2.0.19) – finger fault. :o)

13 02 2010
Edward Wan

Many thanks guys, I thought I messed up my phone :S

15 02 2010
Edward Wan

The issue returned today? any other people get this problem reoccuring?
I hope this doesnt happen all the time otherwise I may have to downgrade again.

Leave a Reply

